All Institutions
Search all resources
Search for entire words only

Faculty of Engineering, University of Porto


Academic Institution

Scientific area(s)

Brief description

Faculty of Engineering (FEUP) was founded in 1926 and is nowadays the largest of the 14 colleges that make up the University of Porto, which serves a community of over 7000 students and 460 teachers. FEUP is organized in nine departments: Civil Engineering, Mining Engineering, Electrical and Computer Engineering, Engineering Physics, Industrial Engineering and Management, Engineering Computers, Mechanical Engineering and Industrial Management, Metallurgical and Materials Engineering, Chemical Engineering. FEUP has 9 Integrated Master courses, 11 Independent Master Courses, and 21 doctoral programs courses leading to degree. In addition FEUP promotes a wide spectrum Continuing Education programs.FEUP seeks to create and develop the most advanced knowledge in Teaching and Research in Engineering, it has 274 active agreements within educational programs in more than 30 countries and approximately 160 research collaborations in over 40 countries. It also cooperates closely with renowned institutions such as the European Space Agency (ESA), IBM, Microsoft and the European Organization for Nuclear Research (CERN) , as well as top universities like the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) , the University of Texas at Austin (UTA) and Carnegie Mellon University (CMU). Teachers and researchers are integrated in 30 R&D units, twelve of which are classified as excellent or very good by international evaluation panels appointed by the Foundation for Science and Technology (FCT).


Mailing address

Rua Dr. Roberto Frias, s/n

  • Postal Code


  • City




Contact person

Antonio Torres Marques

  • Contact person's e-mail

  • Telephone

    +351 220413477

Last edited on

2013-09-07 17:30:48

Health Cluster Portugal All rights reserved
© 2024 Health Cluster Portugal All rights reserved